Health & Wellness, Self Improvement, Weight Loss

5 Valuable Lessons I Learned from Losing Over 100 Pounds…Twice

Shannon Benedetto
8 min readMay 28, 2021

These health journeys finally taught me how to accept myself — at any size.

My 2nd Weight Loss after having my Daughter in 2017

A Quick Background

At my largest, I was around 300 pounds, possibly more; I stopped weighing myself at a certain point. All I knew was that I had to lose this weight, not because I hated the way I looked (even though I did), but because I couldn’t get up off the couch without excruciating pain shooting through my legs. I was 25. I knew that if I continued down this path, I’d be wheelchair-bound by my fifties.

Since I did not want to live my life that way, I began taking steps to create a healthier lifestyle. My first time around, it was geared entirely towards losing weight and building muscle. That’s precisely what I did.

Over three years, I lost 130 pounds (bringing me down to around 155). I studied and became a personal trainer. I wanted to help others achieve what I did. A goal that I had previously assumed was impossible.

The second weight loss was after my pregnancy. I had gained around 95 pounds, but I also half expected to have a 70-pound baby. Low and behold, when she was born, she was a healthy 7lb and few ounces, but momma was about 85…

--

--

Shannon Benedetto

Im Shannon, I'm an intuitive tarot reader. My intent is to provide comfort and guidance to empower you to reclaim your life. www.shannonmarieesoteric.com