Anxiety, Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, Mental Health Awareness

Living with Anxiety and Panic Disorders — Six Techniques to Help You Slay the Dragon.

How to Reclaim Your Own Power and Escape the Hold Anxiety Has Over You.

Shannon Benedetto
11 min readJun 5, 2021

--

Photo by Masha Raymers from Pexels

Anxiety. My oldest friend, my darkest enemy, and a gigantic bully. Since my diagnosis around the age of 16, and for many years before that diagnosis (The youngest I can remember was around the age of 8), I have lived with depression and anxiety and the stigmas that come with those disorders.

I say “lived” with it, and not “struggled” with it or “suffered” with it, though I did all those things as well, because despite the anxiety, despite the depression, I still lived. That’s more than I thought I would ever accomplish during the throes of a panic attack.

As prominent as anxiety is, and although it is on the rise, I feel like it is still very misunderstood by the general public. That means that it is generally misunderstood by the people who have it, especially those who may have it and be undiagnosed.

For that reason, I’m going to share some things that have helped me get through some of the most challenging times I’ve ever dealt with. In retrospect, they did make me stronger as…

--

--

Shannon Benedetto

Im Shannon, I'm an intuitive tarot reader. My intent is to provide comfort and guidance to empower you to reclaim your life. www.shannonmarieesoteric.com