You Can’t “Change” Yourself – but You Can “Heal”

The Power of How We Speak to Ourselves

Shannon Benedetto
3 min readAug 7, 2023
Re-Learning How to Communicate with Ourselves / Canva

I have said that I need to change one thing or another througout the course of my life many times.

“I know I need to change my eating habits.”

“I know I need to change my behaviour towards such and such person.”

But that was never true.

I didn’t need to change.

You don’t need to change.

We all need to heal.

Yes, there is a difference.

We hold ourselves back, often, unknowingly, through negative self-talk.

If we aren’t careful, even what we intend to be a positive message to ourselves can hinder our growth without us even knowing we are causing the hinderance.

The Difference Between Changing and Healing

First, let me explain what I meant by my example.

When we say that we need to “change ourselves” in some way or another, what that implies is that something is wrong with us.

That’s simply not true.

We are all in need of “healing ourselves” from past traumas that have happened to us.

--

--

Shannon Benedetto

Im Shannon, I'm an intuitive tarot reader. My intent is to provide comfort and guidance to empower you to reclaim your life. www.shannonmarieesoteric.com